Cauliflower Avocado Toast

I saw this on the Delish web site and had to make it myself, I have altered it with some nuts and seeds to make it a bit more dense and filling. I am currently on a new food journey which I will fill you in on later, but it involves a lot less carbs in my diet with a significant Keto/OS flare . I have been journaling this change and will share the journal, the recipes I’veĀ developedĀ as well as the transformation (I hope) I can reveal at a later date.

But this is so delicious and filling that I had to share prior to anything because I know I can serve it to All Day because it has avocado. It will keep you full all morning, and it has great fats that are so good for you!

Chop the nuts and chia prior to adding the cauliflower and you’ll have a nice base.

 

After melting coconut oil in a large fry pan and add a spoonful of cauliflower/nut mixture, flatten it out as best you can in order to get that great crispinees across the whole “toast”. Don’t use butter to do this portion please! Coconut oil is clean frying and doesn’t burn what you’re cooking when trying to achieve a crisp coating.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbs organic coconut oil
  • 1 tbs butter
  • 1/2 head of cauliflower cut into bite size pieces.
  • 1/4 cup of almonds (flavor of choice)
  • 1/4 cup of macadamia nuts
  • 1 tbs chia seed
  • two large eggs
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 lemon juiced
  • 1/2 avocado
  • slice of cheese (optional)

In a small food processor (I still have my 25 year old Sunbeam Oskar, I love it). Chop the nuts and chia seed by using the pulse feature until it’s nice and grainy. Add the cauliflower and salt (minus a pinch for avocado mixture) and pulse again. Meantime smash 1/2 avocado with a pinch of salt and lemon juice, set aside.

In a medium bowl add one egg lightly beaten to the cauliflower/nut mixture and mix well.

Place a 1/4 measuring cup full of the mixture to heated coconut oil, press down firmly. Fry on both sides for approxmately 2 minutes each side or to your desired crispiness.

Melt butter and fry egg the way you like it, this truly is best when the yolk is runny. Towards end of cooking, place your favorite cheese on top if you desire.

Spread the avocado mix onto the “toast” and top with egg and enjoy.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

