Trainer Approved (I hope) Veggie Lo-Mein

My wonderful and completely understanding of my love to cook Trainer (Angie) will love this recipe and approve of this kind of dish on my page. Some of my posts just make her shake her head and make me work a little harder that day in the gym. So in Angie’s honor I found a recipe on the Today show and switched it up a little and it’s Delish!!!

Because it’s Summertime I have vowed to use more vegetables in my dishes and try my hardest to out weigh the pool side margaritas with good, healthy clean eating.

This dish is not only Trainer approved but also Ray approved. So when something healthy is scooped up multiple times by my long time live in food critic (this dish is only 160 calories per 2 cup serving) I say that deserves a spot on the blog!!

First off I doubled the amount of ginger in the recipe. It’s so good for you and just adds so much flavor. I peel mine with a spoon it allows you to get in all the nooks and crannies and you get more use out of the ginger. Do it all at once chop it into knuckle size pieces and keep it in the fridge

IMG_3422

Next my FAVE new veggie prep tool the spiral veggie  device (Veggeti in the store). You can get a manual one like I have now, but if your going to do a lot of “spiraling” you may want to invest in a crank version (i’ve ordered one, my wrists are too old for the manual one).

IMG_3429

IMG_3431

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbs Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbs freshly grated ginger
  • 2 Tbs freshly grated garlic
  • 1 red bell pepper julienned
  • 1 Sweet onion julienned
  • 2 cups grated carrot (buy the bag really)
  • 5 cups of “Zoodles” (zucchini noodles)
  • 3 tbs reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 3 tbs Hoisin Sauce
  • 2 scallions chopped for garnish

Heat oil in a skillet (or wok if you have one). Add garlic and ginger until fragrant (this means when you hover over the pan all you can smell are those two awesome things). Add the onions, red pepper and carrots with 1/2 of the soy sauce and hoisin sauce, (1 1/2 Tbs of each). Stir and saute until veggies are soft. Add your Zoodles and the remainder of the soy and hoisin sauce. Only saute about 5 min, the Zoodles cook quickly and you don’t want them to be soggy.

Plate and garnish with scallions.

2 thoughts on “Trainer Approved (I hope) Veggie Lo-Mein

  1. Dale, this looks delicious… I have the vegetti.as well. How many how many vegetables to make 5 cups? Do they get soggy or stay crisp?

    Like

Leave a Reply

