The Breakfast Club

We always have a houseful of kids on the weekends. We love it more than we can say!  I come from a family of six children and my mom always hosted our friends, I realize how quickly it will go by and I try my hardest to embrace the work, being a referee and having the kitchen open 24×7 until those little darlings go home to start another week.

The weekends consists of mostly young teenage girls (with lots of energy) and 17 year old boys who are more than willing to stay in their man cave downstairs and eat a bunch of junk food. My challenge is to get them to eat MY cooking (clean and free of frozen food preservatives) and get them to gather round and show my husband and I a little love for our effort.

This usually comes in the form of breakfast (it’s when everyone wants to eat at the same time). It’s easy to create an egg sandwich, my husband is the best fried egg maker anywhere. I think when we retire, he’ll be a short order cook to keep himself busy.

My job is to put a little special touch on the traditional egg sandwich, so these kids keep coming back and I can keep track of my two for years to come.

Along side of the beautiful breakfast sandwiches are easy yummy fruit crepes. You will come to realize I love crepes and their versatility. I make gluten free on these weekends, these kids come with a lot of demands (nuts, gluten, dairy) so I try to be as accommodating as I can.

The Ray McLaughlin Awesome Breakfast Sandwich:IMG_2768

Bacon (done in the oven, Rachel Ray’s way) 375 degrees for 28 minutes or until desired crunchiness

IMG_2762

Eggs done by Ray (over medium, just enough to drip a teeny bit) Also, yard eggs by Don (I have a guy in a little white house with the best yard eggs, check out the difference)

IMG_2756

IMG_2769

  • Cheese (good cheese, same guy as above)

Berry Compote Breakfast Crepes

Sweet Crepes

  • Scant cup of flower (gluten free) (don’t pack it down like baking)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk (use whole, please for the love of god)
  • 2 Tbs butter
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • t tsp of sugar
  • powdered sugar and honey for serving

Sift the flour into a bowl, add the eggs and only a few tablespoons of milk (3 or 4) and the sugar. Mix well. GRADUALLY stir in the remaining milk. This will be a runny batter so don’t worry. Melt the 2 tablespoons of butter (I like to use a double boiler, or glass bowl over simmering water, it makes it less “foamy”). Let the butter completely cool before mixing it into the crepe batter.

IMG_0001

Let the batter stand for about an hour before cooking. When completely cooled, add the vanilla. When ready, spread the batter in a very thin layer in your oiled crepe pan (or just small fry pan). Let cook for about 2 minutes, until the edges brown. Flip over and cook an additional 2 minutes.

IMG_0038_2

Separate the crepes with wax paper and cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to build your dish.

Delicious Summer Berry Compote

  • 1/4 cup of orange juice (I usually use cointreau, but it’s the kids)
  • 2 tbs cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 tbs vanilla extract

In a bowl, combine 2 tablespoons fruit liqueur (orange juice), cornstarch and water and stir until well blended. In a 4 quart saucepan, add the butter, sugar, and cornstarch mixture and heat over medium-high until hot, about 1 minute.

IMG_2759

Add 3 cups of the summer fruits and bring mixture to a simmer. Cook for another 3 to 5 minutes, or until thickened.

IMG_2760

Remove from heat, add 1 teaspoon of the vanilla extract. Stir to combine and set aside.

IMG_2763

Homemade Cream

  • 1 pint of heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup (or to taste)

Combine heavy cream and sugar and mix with hand mixer until just “fluffy”. Don’t over beat or you will have butter.

Dust with sifted powdered sugar, drizzle with honey, fold and plop on some wonderful home made cream.

IMG_2766IMG_2767

4 thoughts on “The Breakfast Club

  1. Thank you Mrs. C for hosting me on countless sleepovers as a kid! Dale, I will try your crepe recipe. They look delicious and I think I can handle your step by step instructions. My older daughter loves crepes and I’m sure she will give you a rave review. It may not classify as a recipe or even cooking for that matter, but, I owe my LOVE of peanut butter toast to your sister Donna. She was the first to introduce me to this warm melty taste of heaven. By far, peanut butter toast is my favorite comfort food of all time! Growing up as kids together and hanging around with you and your family has provided me with a myriad of happy/funny/crazy memories that resurface from time to time and surely bring a smile to my face. So kudos to you for providing the same experiences for your children and their friends. They will recall these soon to be “good ‘ol days” with fondness and a whiff of vanilla extract will send them into a longing for your homemade/handmade/made with love crepes with ooey gooey berry goodness! From the top of my tastebuds to the bottom of my heart, wishing you much success and love. Keep the deliciousness coming…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lynn, This post made me cry! All of those fond memories with you the irreplaceable “pest” as my Dad always called you. Wrapped up in the mayhem that was our house on the weekend. Thank you for your beautiful words, they give me inspiration to keep this darn thing up!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

